Llanfair United FC

Short name:



 CONTACT: Paul Inns Mobile: 07801 240097 email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



 On Wednesday 23rd September 1896, a meeting was held at the National School where it was unanimously resolved that a football club in Llanfair Caereinion will be formed to play in the Welshpool league.During the 1940’s, a centre half by the name of Trefor Owen made a name for himself by captaining the Welsh Youth team whilst playing for Llanfair Caereinion. He went on to earn 6 Youth caps and 18 Amateur International caps and he also ended up playing for Leyton Orient in the 1960’s.In 1948, Llanfair Caereinion Football Club won their first league title, the Montgomeryshire Amateur League and then went on to win it again in 1947.In 1966, another Llanfair Caereinion player represented his country and signed professional papers. 15-year-old Kingsley Whiffen, was spotted playing for Montgomeryshire Schoolboys and was asked to sign as an apprentice professional for First Division club Chelsea FC.In 1973, Llanfair Caereinion Football Club won a magnificent treble; The Montgomeryshire Amateur League, Montgomeryshire Amateur League Cup and The Montgomeryshire Village Cup and go on to win the league for the 4th time in 1975, getting promoted to the Mid Wales League for the first time, staying there for 5 seasons. A Reserve side was formed and played in the amateur league until 1980.Llanfair hold the record for most Emrys Morgan Cup wins, 5 in total (1978, 1984, 1986, 1991, 2016) more then any other side in the prestigious trophy’s history.In between Emrys Morgan Cup wins, Llanfair won back to back Montgomeryshire League titles in 1985 and 1986. In 1989, Llanfair Wanderers were formed and played in the Montgomeryshire League alongside Llanfair Town. Both teams played each other in the Town Cup Final in 1993, Llanfair Town coming out on top, 3-0. Llanfair Town won back to back league titles in 1989 and 1990.After a barren spell in the late 90’s, Llanfair Town and Llanfair Wanderers joined together for the 2001/2002 season to become Llanfair United Football Club, winning the Town Cup in their first season. The Reserves were once again formed in 2004.Llanfair United Ladies were formed in 2012 and a new Youth side. The Ladies entered the North Powys League, winning their first league title in 2014. They went onto to play in the 2nd tier of Welsh football and won the North Wales Women’s Football League back to back in 2019 and 2020, picking up the League Cup, NEWFA Cup and Central Wales Cup along the way. The Youths were also successful, winning the league in 2014, 2015 and in 2017, they won a brilliant treble consisting of the league, league cup and Central Wales Youth Cup.In 2010/11 the club joined the Mid Wales League once again and won Division 2 in 2013. In 2015, Llanfair United won the Mid Wales League Division 1 for the first time in the club’s history and played in the 2nd tier of Welsh football for the first time as a result. After relegation in 2017, they bounced back to do it all again in 2019.Llanfair won the Central Wales Cup for the first time in 2014 and the Montgomeryshire Challenge Cup for the first time in 2015, and again in 2016 and 2017.The time spent in the 2nd tier of Welsh football was an enjoyable experience for the most part and put the club on the map. The club now looks forward to another exciting season in the newly formed Tier 3 North East League.

League results

Rank Played Won Drawn Lost GD Points
10 0 0 0 0 0 0

Upcoming matches

Date Team Location Result
31-07-2024 18:30 Dolgellau AA FCAway
10-08-2024 14:30 Llanidloes TownAway
14-08-2024 18:30 Kerry FCHome
16-08-2024 18:30 Chirk AAA FCAway
24-08-2024 14:30 Llandrindod WellsHome



Unknown 30.7% Unknown
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 20.0% United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
United States of America 11.4% United States of America
Australia 8.3% Australia
Canada 8.0% Canada



Today: 465
This Week: 465
This Month: 15,192